Reset Button Operation and Descriptions - Verasys - LC-MAP1860-1SL - Supervisory controller - MAP1860

Verasys Smart Building Hub (SBH) Installation Guide LC-MAP1860-1SL

Product name
MAP1860
Document type
Installation Guide
Document revision
A
Revision date
2021-03-26
Product status
Active

If you lose your password or if you want to restore the unit to factory defaults, the Smart Building Hub offers two reset functions: a Network Reset function that resets Wi-Fi and Ethernet settings, and a Reset to Factory Defaults function that resets all unit settings (including user profiles). Reset to Factory Defaults also resets your SSL certificate to the Johnson Controls® self-signed certificate that is in the device when it comes from the factory.

The Network Reset function is intended for individuals who forget their Wi-Fi connection information, and the Reset to Factory Defaults function is for use by administrators who may want to clear all user profiles from a device. For information on resetting the unit, see Table 1.

Important: To use a unit that is reset to factory defaults, you must have the default login information supplied in the Quick Start Guide that shipped with the unit. The Reset to Factory Defaults function does not change the version of the application. If you did a software upgrade, the Smart Building Hub remains at the upgraded version rather than resetting to the version that it was running when it left the factory.

The reset button is on the back of the device, and it is embedded into the Smart Building Hub housing so that it cannot be activated by accident. To reach the reset button, use a small screwdriver or similar tool.

  • If you are connected to the network when you use the reset button, you are disconnected.
  • If you press the reset button for more than 9 seconds, the reset operation is canceled.
  • If a fault condition already exists, the reset button is disabled.
Figure 1. Using the Reset Button

Table 1. Reset Button Operation and Descriptions
Reset Function Reset Operation 1
Reset the WI-Fi and Ethernet Settings
  1. Press and hold the reset button for 2 seconds. The Fault LED displays Slow Flicker behavior.

  2. Release the reset button within 3 seconds. The Fault LED continues Slow Flicker behavior.

  3. Within 5 seconds, press the reset button again, and then immediately release it to confirm that you wish to reset Wi-Fi and Ethernet settings. (If you do not press the reset button to confirm within 5 seconds, the reset operation is canceled.)

  4. The Wi-Fi (SSID and passphrase) and Ethernet settings are reset to factory defaults. The LEDs stop flickering for 2 seconds, and then the LEDs return to normal operation, based on the current state of the device.

Reset to Factory Defaults 2
  1. Press and hold the reset button for 6 seconds. After 2 seconds the Fault LED displays Slow Flicker behavior. This changes to Fast Flicker behavior after an additional 4 seconds of holding the reset button.

  2. Release the reset button within 3 seconds of seeing Fast Flicker behavior. The Fault LED continues Fast Flicker behavior.

  3. Within 5 seconds, press the reset button again, and then immediately release it to confirm that you wish to reset to factory defaults. (If you do not press the reset button to confirm within 5 seconds, the reset operation is canceled.)

  4. All unit settings are reset to factory defaults. The LEDs stop flashing for 2 seconds, and then the LEDs return to normal operation, based on the current state of the device.

1 For information on LED designations and flicker behavior, see Table 1.
2 Resets all unit settings, including user profiles.