An upload transfers information from your site to SCT or SCT Pro, where it is stored in an archive. If you upload a site, you replace the information stored in the selected archive. A backup is a copy of an archive, made at a specific point in time. You can create multiple backups of an archive. You can restore an archive from a backup to recover lost or corrupted site settings.