User preferences - Metasys - LIT-1201519 - MS-NAE35xx-2 - MS-NAE45xx-2 - MS-NAE5510-2U - MS-NAE5510-3U - MS-NAE551S-2 - MS-NAE55xx-3 - MS-NCE25xx-0 - MS-NXE85SW-x - Supervisory Device - NAE35 Network Automation Engine - NAE45 Network Automation Engine - NAE55 Network Automation Engine - NAE85 Network Automation Engine - NCE25 Network Control Engine - 11.0

NAE Commissioning Guide

Brand
Metasys
Product name
NAE35 Network Automation Engine
NAE45 Network Automation Engine
NAE55 Network Automation Engine
NAE85 Network Automation Engine
NCE25 Network Control Engine
Document type
Commissioning Guide
Document number
LIT-1201519
Version
11.0
Revision date
2022-02-09
Language
English

User preferences apply to a specific network engine user. User preferences define how the information is displayed in the user interface and do not affect the operation of the system. The colors and marker styles of a trend display are examples of user preferences. Each user is authorized to view and edit their own user preferences.

The system automatically assigns a numbered user preference file name for each user called UserPreferences-userID.xml, where userID is the identification number of the user. Using an identification number, rather than using the actual user name, serves two purposes. First, it avoids any conflicts that might arise if the user name contains special characters. Second, it allows the user to be renamed without breaking the connection to the user preferences file.

To view user identification numbers, open the Security Administrator screen and select User Preference File Names under the View menu (this option is available only to the MetasysSysAgent user). The user preference file names appear in the Roles and Users pane (Figure 1) and correspond to files on the Metasys device in the directory as indicated in Table 1. As shown by two callouts in Figure 1:

  • 1: User preference file name as seen in the Security Administration in the user interface.
  • 2: User preference file as seen when accessing a network engine using the NCT.

The procedure to synchronize user preferences within a site or to reuse the user preferences on another site is a manual copy and paste process. Use the manual process to copy user preferences to other devices on the site or to other sites. See Copying preferences between devices.

Figure 1. User preference file