Purging a database - Metasys - LIT-12011202 - Software Application - Metasys Database Manager - 13.0

Metasys Database Manager Help

Brand
Metasys
Product name
Metasys Database Manager
Document type
User Guide
Document number
LIT-12011202
Version
13.0
Revision date
2023-08-14
Product status
Active
Language
English

Use the Maintenance tab to purge databases. The Maintenance tab is not available to all users. Access is dependent on the user's Windows access rights. See Required access rights for more information.

Important: Unless you back up the database first, the database information cannot be recovered after you click Purge Data Now.
Note: To minimize Metasys system downtime during a purge, purge the database on a regular basis. Large databases, for example over 50 GB, may take substantial time to complete the purge operation.

To purge a database:

  1. Open the Metasys Database Manager. See Opening the Metasys database manager to manage your databases.
  2. Click the Maintenance tab.
    Note: If the Maintenance tab is not visible, this tab may not be available to you based on your Windows access rights, or because you did not click Yes in the User Account Control window. See Required access rights and Opening the Metasys database manager to manage your databases.
  3. To create a backup, in the Maintenance Type section, click Create Backup prior to maintenance.
    Note: If you click this box, you must enter information on the Backup tab before you click Purge Data Now, including the location where the backup files are saved.
  4. In the Maintenance Thresholds section, select an amount of data to leave in the database, if required. You can leave:
    • No
    • Current Month's
    • Last Month's
    • Last 2 Month's
    • Last 3 Month's
    • Last 6 Month's
    • Last 12 Month's
    • Last 24 Month's
    • Last 36 Month's
    • Last 60 Month's
    • Custom Cutoff Date
    If you want to delete all records, choose No.
  1. In the Database Selection section, select the databases you want to purge.
    Note: If you click Create Backup prior to maintenance, you must enter information on the Backup tab before you click Purge Data Now.
  2. Click Purge Data Now. An alert message appears that states Warning: This will shut down Metasys.().
  3. Click OK to shut down the Metasys system and start the purge.

When the purge is complete, a check mark appears in the status bar (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Successful Purge