Performing a Global Modify - BCPro - LIT-12011905 - Server - BCPro Data Server - 4.0

BCPro Data Server

Brand
BCPro
Product name
BCPro Data Server
Document type
User Guide
Document number
LIT-12011905
Version
4.0
Revision date
2020-03-27
Language
English

About this task

For information on editing an item using the Edit button in the display panel, see Editing Items in the BCPro Data Server User Interface section.

This procedure is for modifying more than one item in a single operation. To modify a single item, see Modifying a Single Item.

You can globally modify items online and in the BCT.

You can perform a global modification on items from the navigation tree, display panel view, or Global Search Results table.
Note: Once sent, you cannot undo a global modification; however, you can send another global modification to readjust values as needed.

To perform a Global Modify:

Procedure

  1. Select multiple items in the navigation tree, display panel view, or global search results. Right-click the items and select the Modify menu item. The Global Modify dialog box appears.
    Note: The Items tab lists the selected items and your permissions to modify them.
  2. On the Attributes tab, make changes to one or more attributes as desired.
  3. Select the Show Modify Results check box to display the results of the modifications, if desired.
  4. Click Send. If you selected to view results, the Change Results Viewer appears in a display panel. The Change Results Viewer has options to copy the results, save the results to a file, and clear the results.
    Note: If you are not authorized to send a global modification to one or more objects, a dialog box appears stating the modification can not be sent to unauthorized objects. Click Yes to continue to send the modification to the authorized objects. Click No to return to the Modify dialog box without sending the modification to any objects. Click Cancel to close the Modify dialog box without sending the modification to any objects. Your system access and category-based privileges set in the Security Administrator System determine your authorization.
    Note: On a BCPro site, you are prompted to authorize this action (only once) with the defined annotation and/or electronic signature requirements.
    After the modification has been sent to all selected items, the Global Modify Completed dialog box appears indicating:
    • the attributes that were modified (appears in a comma delimited list)
    • the date/time the modification started and completed
    • the number of successful/failed modifications
    • if any modifications were not sent because they were unauthorized
    • the total modifications attempted
    Figure 1. Global Modify Completed Dialog Box

  5. Click OK.